come dancing…!

I took Lucy with me to vote yesterday. After having had the conversation about why your vote was secret, why I wasn’t voting for the man whose face is plastered on everything that stands still near our house (he just criticises other people and doesn’t have his own opinions on anything …how perceptive Lucy), and why if they are wanting to make a difference in their community they should keep it tidy by taking the posters down.. I thought we had ‘voting’ covered. It seems not.

When we came out, Lucy said ‘is that it? I thought you’d all sit round a big brown table with curly brown legs and talk about it then hold up cards with numbers..’ It’s not strictly come dancing Lucy, but wouldn’t it be more interesting if it was?!

I’m loving that the elections might mean change within the children’s sector here as there will be some new faces and hopefully a new path on some agendas. I’m also loving that I don’t have to concern myself with all of the possibilities here, rather, now that I am self employed I can watch with interest and position myself to support delivery of high quality service for children if at all possible.

I’ve had a good day today – to be fair any day that starts with minstrels for breakfast will be good, right?! In my defence they were left over from last night’s trip to the Opera House and were in an open bag and they’d have gone off if left in my handbag, so I was just minimising waste. Today has been full of plans. big plans. and coffee.

I’m on the verge of a very exciting project which will tick all my boxes and tie together all of the strands of my work. more to follow, hopefully next week!

Anyhow, over the last couple of days I’ve had a long hard look at the things I’m working on and I’m delighted that its all coming together. To be honest it has been a slow journey thus far, not least as I refined my list to something workable. Although, if I’m really honest, I’m pretty sure I’ve still got too much on my plate. But this new way of working suits me. There has not been a single day that I’ve been on my way to meet a client, a friend, or a colleague and have not appreciated the view. What a beautiful part of the world we live in. Having the time to soak in the beauty on the drive was something I didn’t even know I was missing as I was always ‘in the wrong town’ (ie already late for where I was meant to be). My family is benefitting from more of me, not the dregs at the end of the day, or in fact in an interval before I had to start work again once they were in bed (hubby included sometimes). I’ve learnt a lot on this journey – not just to appreciate the view, but that you can decide what the view will be.

I’ve also learnt that other people are happy enough for you to run yourself into the ground. why not? saves them a lot of work it seems.. and I need to take some responsibility for some of this as I didn’t ever wave a distress signal a mile from shore (not waving, but drowning). That says more about me than I’d like it to, but I’m learning. Always learning.

In this country people have an awful habit of focussing on the negative.. ‘how are you?’ ‘not too bad’… what about ‘I’m well thanks’?  (as long as you are of course). An alternative is honesty. This little known trait means that it would be ok to say ‘actually I think I’ve got too much on my plate at the moment. can I ask you for some help?’ weird.. no?

For this approach to work though, we’d need to be comfortable enough in our own skin to not worry about how this reflected on us. I aspire to this. And I’m really trying.

Anyway – have you heard about my ‘Personable‘ approach? I’m aspiring to create an environment where this would all be possible.. where we would live in environments where everyone could have the confidence to go out into the community and to engage as equal citizens

The Personable approach aims to ensure that the sensitivities of all persons are taken into account within the environments that we learn, shop, play and work

People who have difficulties processing information received from their senses can have difficulty in understanding the world around them. Unfamiliar environments can make them feel anxious, and they may choose to stay at home rather than going out. This can make them strangers in their own communities.

Difficulties with the processing of sensory information underpins many labels such as dyslexia, dyspraxia, autism and other communication, learning, behavioural, motor, genetic and chromosomal disorders, and you know that many people live without a label, but with many insecurities.

The Personable charter is a commitment by businesses to consider the needs of their customers; respecting their individual differences. Awareness seminars are available on a range of topics and for varied audiences to ensure that businesses can best meet the individual needs of their customer population. The key to the success of this approach is having front line staff who are trained to respect difference and to show sensitivity. A comprehensive self evaluation framework has been devised to enable businesses to regularly assess how well they are ensuring that individual needs are being met by their service.

Businesses who subscribe to the approach, signing the charter to demonstrate their commitment to the needs of their customer population are licenced to use the Personable logo and display the charter, giving confidence to their clientele that the business is people friendly.

I’m hoping that through implementation of this approach in a range of settings where we learn, shop, play and work, we can make our localities much more accommodating.

I’m working to create environments where more people can go out dressed head to toe in red with fabulous eyelashes intact if they so wish (you know what I mean) like in Lucy’s picture. I’m not sure who the character is. I’m not sure I need to know. I do know I am proud that she is happy and that she lives with me.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

